Keshi Releases 23-Man List, Drops Nsofor, Mba and Uzoenyi


Coach Stephen Keshi on Monday released a 23-man list of players to represent Nigeria at the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.


Keshi made a few surprises in selection by dropping players such as the AFCON 2013 match winner Obinna Nsofor, Sunday Mba and CHAN 2013 Most Valuable Player Ejike Uzoenyi. Others dropped include Joel Obi and Nnamdi Oduamadi.


Nigeria is in the same group with Argentina, Iran and Bosnia Herzegovina at the 2014 World Cup which kicks off on June 12.


Experienced names like Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide, Joseph Yobo and Elderson Echiejile also made the final list.


Top scorer of the 29th Africa Cup of Nations, Emmanuel Emenike, Godfrey Oboabona, John Obi Mikel and Victor Moses will be expected to make their World Cup debut when the championship kicks off.


Keshi picked Vincent Enyeama, Austin Ejide and Chigozie Agbim as goalkeepers, Joseph Yobo, Elderson Echiejile, Juwon Oshaniwa, Godfrey Oboabona, Azubuike Egwuekwe, Kenneth Omeruo and Efe Ambrose.


He also chose John Mikel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi, Ramon Azeez, Micheal Uchebo and Reuben Gabriel as Midfielders. The strikers are Osaze Odemwingie, Ahmed Musa, Shola Ameobi, Emmanuel Emenike, Babatunde Michael, Victor Moses and Uche Nwofor.

Follow Us on Social Media

error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us