Owerri Community Celebrates Ex-Falcons Keeper, Chiejine, Others


Ann Chiejina,  Nigeria’s foremost female goalkeeper, led the pack of distinguished awardees at the maiden edition of the Umunahu Community Development Union, Lagos chapter last weekend when she was honoured with the Excellent Leadership Award by   the community where she hails from, in Owerri North Local Government Area of Imo State.

Organisers of the award, which took place on December 3, 2017  at Nitel Complex in Lagos described the event as a memorable occasion and a great opportunity to express joy to their illustrious sons and daughters who have brought honour, and made outstanding contributions towards the development of the community and the country.

Chairman of the Union,  Hon. Charles Obiako described the day as one, set aside “To honour our past leaders, our brothers and sisters who have made uncountable and immeasurable contributions  towards the growth of the community,  humanity and Nigeria in their various endeavours.”

For some of the awardees,  their excitement knew no bound. An   elated Chiejine, a former Super Falcons goalkeeper, who was flanked by her  husband, Uche, said she was overwhelmed by the joy of being honoured by the community leaders. “If these       awards were to be sold, I don’t think I have reached the level of buying any,” she declared in an emotion laden voice.

Reuben Nnodi, a former President of the Union, who was also honoured with the Excellent Leadership Award broke down in tears of joy as he recounted, with gratitude to God, the level of progress some members of the community have made over time.

Nnodi, an ex-police officer whose presence at the occasion attracted loud ovation for his numerous contribution to the  development of the community was described by Chief Vitalis Ofoegbu, the immediate past president of the Union as an outstanding community leader who dedicated his service years to the welfare of his kinsmen.

Also honoured in the Excellent Leadership category were Eddie Nnadi, Lolo Catherine Azuwuike, Eunice Ukaonu, Violet Nwagbara and Raymond Aharanwa.

In the Family Building Excellence Award category, seven  distinguished community leaders were honoured.  They are Apostle Celestine Emehara, Stanley Ibeawuchi, Comrade Peter Nwagbara, Patrick Uzodinma, Peter Oparaocha, Deacon Ben Mbara and Emeka Obioma.

Similarly, four outstanding members of the community bagged     the Sustained Long Membership Award. They include Comfort Akuwudike, Rose Osuji, George Chido Nnadi and Anthony Monday Olugazie.

The ceremony witnessed a massive turnout of friends and relatives of the honourees.




Follow Us on Social Media

Related posts

Select Language
error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us