Osun Re-run: How The Process Went

At daybreak 28 September 2018, the race for the Oke-Fia Government House, Osogbo finally ended with the declaration of Gboyega Oyetola of the All Progressives Congress as the Governor-Elect of Osun state.

The keenly contested election held on Saturday 22 September 2018 did not produce a winner and was declared inconclusive by the Independent National Electoral Commission. This led to a supplementary election conducted in four local councils of Osogbo, Orolu, Ife South and Ife North on Thursday.
Professor Joseph Afuwape, the Chief Returning Officer for the governorship election declared that the All Progressives Congress candidate, Gboyega Oyetola polled 255,505 votes to defeat his closest rival Ademola Adeleke of the Peoples’ Democratic Party who scored 255,053, followed by Senator Iyiola Omisore of the Social Democratic Party with 128,053 and the Action Democratic Party, Moshood Adeoti who scored 49,742.

The painstaking process that led to the announcement of the winner of the election commenced by 8.45 pm at the State Office of INEC in Osogbo and came to an end around 1.25am Friday morning.

Follow Us on Social Media

Related posts

Select Language
error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us