INEC Reschedules Distribution of PVCs In 7 States

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, yesterday, announced the rescheduling of the ongoing issuance of permanent voters’ cards in seven states of the country.

According to the Commission, the production of Permanent Voters Cards, PVC and preparation for Continuous Voter Registration will take place in six states and the remaining nine local government areas in Lagos State, where the exercise has not taken place.

In a statement issued in Abuja by the Chief Press Secretary to INEC chairman, Kayode Idowu, the Commission said the decision was reached after a meeting with leaders of 22 registered political parties from Niger, Katsina, Rivers, Nasarawa, Kaduna and Borno as well as nine LGs in Lagos State that were left out in the recently concluded third phase of the programme.

“At the meeting with political party leaders, the commission presented a progress report on the production of PVCs and explained lingering challenges necessitating a readjustment in the previously announced schedule for distribution of the cards and CVR in the outstanding states,” the statement said.

To ensure the successful distribution of the PVCs, INEC rescheduled the exercise in Rivers and Nasarawa states and remaining nine LGs in Lagos to now hold from Friday, November 28 to Sunday, November 30 2014, while CVR will take place between Wednesday, December 3 and Monday, December 8 2014.

Follow Us on Social Media

Related posts

Select Language
error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us