Senate Presidency: How Ahmed Lawan Won

79 Senators-elect Ahmed Lawan president of the Senate

Senator Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan, Yobe North, was finally elected Senate President at a highly tensed contest at the Red Chamber Tuesday afternoon. He polled 79 votes to beat Ali Ndume, Borno South, who pulled 28 votes. A total of 107 senators-elect took part in the voting, which was presided over by  Mohammed Sani-Omolori, clerk of the National Assembly.

Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan Photo
Ahmed Ibrahim Lawan
Follow Us on Social Media

Related posts

Select Language
error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us