Nigeria Miss UNESCO 2014 International Literacy Prize

Six years after winning the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organisation, UNESCO international literacy prize, Nigeria has again lost out of the global literacy rating.

Algeria, Burkina Faso, Ecuador, South Africa and Spain have been recognised by UNESCO for promoting Literacy and Sustainable Development.

As part of activities marking the 2014 International Literacy Day holding on September 8, each of the winning countries will receive a cash sum of $20,000, a diploma and a medal in a ceremony to be held in Dhaka, capital city of Bangladesh.

Irina Bokova, UNESCO Director-General, said the theme of this years International Literacy Prize is: literacy and sustainable development.

Nigeria won the prestigious prize in 2007 in the same group with China, Senegal, Tanzania and the United States of America.

Follow Us on Social Media


Related posts

Select Language
error: Content is protected !!
WhatsApp WhatsApp us